90+% Furnace Venting


I just love to read our installation instructions and see if there have been any changes or improvements.  This way, I can learn something new every now and then.  Well, I was just reading through the latest Install Instructions for our 90+% furnaces and found something that I think will be of real interest to you (and something new that I learned so it is going to be a GREAT day). Click on the furnace venting link below  to open up a word document that you can print out to see what I learned:

furnace venting

Did you ever think that you could vent a furnace down through the floor? Well, now you can say you have.   Hopefully this will help get some more jobs for you.  Remember this is ONLY for 90+% efficient furnaces

Keep in mind, that the termination on the outside of the house still needs to be at least 12 inches above anticipated snow level.

Be sure to follow all the steps in the Install Instructions for this venting arrangement to assure safe operation of the furnace.

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 90+% Furnace Venting

  1. Bob says:

    do you have info. on York requiring use of Polymeric venting listed to UL 1738 such as Inno-Vent polypropylene? Rumor going around about outlawing Sch. 40 pvd due to failures of “properly” cemented joints.
    TIA,
    Hearthman

    • There is no discussion on changing the requirements for PVC venting anywhere except for comments and rumors from the polypropylene vent manufacturers themselves. They are trying to drive a standards change where their products became accepted and/or required because of cemented joint failures. They do not talk about the dangers of not properly tightening their slip fit vent pipe and fittings, which has about the same level of danger.

      While we have acquired polypropylene pipe from several sources, we have not tested that material yet. It is a common vent material for gas boilers in Europe, and the OEM’s are actively trying to get into the US and Canada gas furnace markets.

  2. Bob says:

    I sit on the UL Standards Technical Panel 103 so I would be very interested in any changes or updates you have in this matter. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

