This is what happens when I have too much free time!


 HOW A LIGHT BULB WORKS

A  sheet of paper crossed my desk the other day and as I read it a realization of a basic truth came to me.  So simple!  So obvious we have just taken it for granted for so long.  A friend of mine had discovered how light bulbs work.  He said that light bulbs do not produce light, but rather, absorb the dark because every time it quits working, the bulb is dark.   He claims to have verified this through testing.

I was totally amazed!  Of course!  Light bulbs absorb dark.  Remember the last time that a light bulb quit working?  When you looked at it, there was some black inside the bulb.  This indicated that it was FULL.  I sat and smiled like an idiot as more of the truth dawned on me.  I remember changing fluorescent bulbs when they go out.  The ends are always BLACK indicating the bulb was full.  Even simple light bulbs have indicators.  When you “shake” a new bulb, there is no sound because it is empty.  But when you shake a bulb that doesn’t work any more, you always hear something inside the bulb. This has to be all the dark that it has absorbed. 

Yes, I know his theory is in fact truth.  A light bulb is like an air conditioner.  Doesn’t refrigerant “absorb” heat rather than cool the air?  A light bulb does the same thing – it absorbs DARK instead of producing light.  Further proof is when you put a dimmer switch on a light bulb, as power to the bulb is reduced, so are its absorbing capabilities.  The result is it can’t absorb the dark very fast so the room is not fully illuminated. 

I plan on spending more time with him on some of his other theories!

 MB ‘2011 

If the speed of light can be measured, can the speed of dark also be measured?

HAPPY HALLOWEEN TO ALL!

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Just for Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is what happens when I have too much free time!

  1. Bob Mudra says:

    Couldn’t pass up replying to this one.

    After 45 years in consumer electronics engineering and ham radio, I have determined what makes integrated circuits (like micro processors) work ……………. SMOKE.

    I have proven beyond a doubt that when the SMOKE gets out……. they don’t work anymore.

    Thanks for a good chuckle.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

