RTU Filter Chart


In a previous posting, I have discussed the importance of proper air flow to assure proper operation of cooling and heating.  In my last posting, I had pictures of a dirty blower and evaporator coil and discussed how this can affect the pressures a unit sees.  With these postings in mind, a discussion of maintenance comes to mind — particularly, filter maintenance.

Most RTU’s have their filters in the unit on the roof — out of sight, out of mind. When a dealer goes to do maintenance, he rarely has the filters needed for that equipment with him, so they may not get changed even at that time.  To make your jobs easier, one of my TM’s created a quick reference chart of what size and how many filters our RTU’s require. 

I have attached the chart at the end of this posting with the hope that you will print it out and keep it handy when you go to do maintenance on our RTU’s.

I would also encourage you  to look up the past posting on the importance of proper air flow for HVAC equipment.  A lot of problems can be avoided by just replacing filters and keeping components clean and having the proper air flow.

Thanks to our TM NED for providing this chart!

YORK ROOFTOP FILTER CHART 3/20/12

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

