Service Check List


As part of my ongoing series on air conditioning and refrigerant system servicing, I have posted a lot of information about what to look for and how to use the diagnostic chart for determining possible issues with an air conditioner or heat pump.

We have discussed the proper tools to have and how to use them.  I have included a critical data sheet to go with the diagnostic chart. 

As one more tool for you to use while servicing an air conditioner, I have attached a Service Check List that can be used both for diagnostic but also for air conditioning servicing this spring and summer.

Soon, you will be out doing unit start-ups and this check list will help you to record data as part of that start-up. Maintenance on a piece of equipment is only as good as all the checks that are performed on that piece of equipment.

Hopefully, with this check list, it will remind your technicians of things they should be checking and making sure they are functioning properly. As the old saying goes, “No job is complete until the paperwork is done!”

Service Check Sheet_0001

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Service Check List

  1. ali says:

    Can you send me completely lecture of the capacitor

    • If you type the word CAPACITOR in the SEARCH BOX it will bring up 3 posts I have on the subject. One is titled Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Capacitors Posted on March 30, 2012. There is one on capacitor substitution and one on how to test them.

Leave a Reply

