Twas the Night Before Christmas (or A Visit From St. York)


‘Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house

Not a creature was stirring, because the furnace was out!

   The stockings were hung on the windows with care

   Trying to keep out the cold winter air.

The children were nestled all snug in their beds

because everyone was so cold, they thought they were dead!

   And Mama in her kerchief and I in my cap

   Had put on our coats and every other warm wrap.

When down in the basement there arose such a clatter

I sprang from my bed to see what was the matter. 

 Away down the hallway I flew like a flash

tore open the door with a real loud crash!

The furnace in the basement of our family home

Was shaking and shuddering because it too was so cold.

   When what to my wondering ears should I hear?

   But the York CCE Dealer I called, Yes, he’s coming here!

With a truck full of technicians that were ready to work

I knew in a moment that it must be St York.

   More rapid than rectification, their coursers they came

   And he whistled and shouted and called them by name:

Now SALES MANAGERS, Now WAREHOUSEMEN, Now CSR’S, Now AdMin!

On OPS MANAGERS, and SERVICE MANAGERS, all come on in!

   To the top of the porch, through the open front door,

   Now dash on in, dash on in, dash on in all!

As the cold wind that before the snow storm does fly

When it meets with a homeowner and starts him to cry

   So down to the basement their coursers they flew

   With a box full of boards, igniters, and sensors too!

And then in a twinkling I heard from below

The checking of part numbers from each manager’s computer.

   As I drew in my head and was turning to see

   In came the boss with a smile of glee.

He was dressed very warm from his head to his foot

And his clothes were not covered with ashes and soot.

   A Source One book he had slung on his back

   And Time Saver parts were on top of his pack.

His eyes how they squinted, his dimples were hairy

His cheeks were like roses; his nose was a cherry.

   He had a big old mouth that was drawn up in grin

   And the beard on his chin was sort of well trimmed.

The stump of a cigar he held tight in his teeth

Between the few that were there, it was quite a feat.

   He had a broad face and a big old fat belly

   That shook when he laughed like a bowl full of jelly.

He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old elf

And I laughed when I saw him despite what I felt.

   But a wink of his eye and a twist of his head

   Soon gave me to know that the furnace was not dead.

He spoke not a word, yet directed the work

And they fixed up the furnace and all of its quirks.

   Then laying his hand on the furnace below

   It started to work with a very warm glow.

He sprang to his truck, to the Manager’s gave a whistle

And away they all left, per the boss’s dismissal.

But I heard him exclaim ere he drove out of sight

We always use Source 1 parts — have a HAPPY CHRISTMAS TONIGHT!!!

WISHING EVERONE THE BEST OF THIS HOLIDAY SEASON, WHATEVER YOUR CELEBRATION MAY BE!

mb/12

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Just for Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

