A True Story — Follow-Up


The last post. A True Story, received a couple of comments that I thought I would share with everyone.

The first one, “Great story. We are so focused on solving problems that we sometimes forget about the safety aspect. Thanks for the reminder!”

The next one was, “Hey Mike, great story! ALL HAIL, Mike is human. Being our all knowing guru of all things heating and air, it’s nice to see we’re (all technicians) all fallible. Have no fear, we’ll all still be begging you for your wisdom anytime we’re stuck. Believe me I think every tech has a scorched something or other in their tool bag, we just won’t show anybody.”

Just as FORD says Quality is Job One in our industry we should all believe that Safety is Job One! Some times we become so use to doing what we do that we become complacent and wind up doing something stupid like I did.  Back on August 26, 2012 I did a post on SAFETY. I have re-read it and maybe, if you missed it, you might want to read it also.

The other point I wanted to make with the  A True Story  post was to emphasize the importance of making sure every piece of equipment has a good ground.  When we talk safety, this is one of the most important things to be aware of when working on any piece of equipment. Not only does it affect the functionality of the unit but, more so, it is protection for the components and the person working on that unit.

A long time ago, I was given this little piece below. I have brought it out and have it sitting on my desk again as a reminder.  It looks like it is written in German, but you just have to read the words and you will get the meaning. My favorite reminder in the piece is Ist nicht fur gewerken by das dummkopfen which translates out as dummy’s should not be working on the machine! We all need to be aware of what we are doing at all times.  Accidents can happen, but with a lot of awareness, they can be prevented.  Enjoy the piece below and, above all, take it to heart!

ACHTUNG!!!
Das machine is nicht fur gefingerpoken und mittengrabben. Ist easy schnappen der springenwerk, blowenfusen und corkenpoppen mit spitzensparken. Ist nicht fur gewerken by das dummkopfen. Das rubbernecken sightseeren keepen hands in das pockets. Relaxen und vatch das blinkenlights!!! (annonomys)

Thanks to those who made the comments as a reminder for all of us..

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

