How to Always Win With Customers


So often we get caught up looking at the technical side of what we do every day that, sometimes, we forget that there is also a “people” side to our industry.  In the next couple of posts, I’m going to look at dealing with the customer side of our business.

“ALWAYS DO MORE THAN THE CUSTOMER EXPECTS”

This will be the first topic in this series.  I have gone back into my archives and found some information that I feel explains the statement above.  I do not remember where I got it or who the original author is, but the following 10 steps make a lot of sense in How To Always Win With Customers:

  1. DO SOMETHING FOR YOUR CUSTOMER THAT WON’T BENEFIT YOU!
    1. Remove trash from the roof — even if it’s not yours.
    2. Show how to reset a circuit breaker (explain cautions)
    3. Explain Energy Savings Project the customer can do.
  2. UNDERSTAND THE LAW OF RECIPROCITY.
    1. Most people are morally obligated to give back “like kind” behavior.
    2. Don’t say ” it was nothing”, instead say, “You’d do the same for me”!
  3. LET THE CUSTOMER KNOW IF YOU ARE DELAYED.
    1. it shows the customer you respect them and their time
  4. INFORM THE CUSTOMER IF THE JOB WILL TAKE LONGER THAN NORMAL.
  5. LET YOUR CUSTOMER KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT.
    1. Noises
    2. smoke from brazing
    3. Odors from cleaning solutions
  6. CLEANLINESS IS CRITICAL
    1. The entire job may be judged on what the customer sees.
    2. Cleanliness shows Pride!
  7. EXPLAIN WHAT YOU DID TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM.
    1. Use word that they will understand
  8. ASK THE CUSTOMER TO CONCUR THAT THE SERVICE WAS SATISFACTORY!
    1. “Does this work meet your High Standards”
      1. Shows that you respect the customer
  9. ASK, “IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU’D LIKE ME TO CHECK?”
    1. While I’m here, I can look at other parts of the system.  I can charge just by the 1/4 hour to check out any problems?
  10. DISCUSS RECOMMENDATIONS
    1. Look for opportunities to make your customer’s lives better.
    2. DOCUMENT FINDINGS ON YOUR SERVICE REPORT
    3. Always keep promises

These probably seem like very simplistic ideas but, if you really think about each one and think  how you would feel if some one did these things or offered the options to you, you woud see why these ideas will help you ALWAYS WIN WITH CUSTOMERS.

Next time I’ll try to present some tips for better customer relations.

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Always Win With Customers

  1. roger daigle says:

    Mike I learned this lesson early on from my partner. On a service call we did for a woman and her mother the woman lamented that all the bulbs were burned out in her ceiling fan. I apologized that I had no bulbs with me. She said I have bulbs but don’t know how to change them. My partner said this a goodwill opportunity and that I should change them for her. I did so and she was so happy, that she asked if we could fix her attic fan (it wasn’t working). We simply picked up a new motor the next day and also sold her a box of filters. We showed her how to change them and told her to do it monthly. This woman was so excited that we changed her bulbs (after we quoted our price for repairs with no extra cost) that she gave us a tip for being so nice. It was a “hands on” lesson in customer service that will always stay with me. The little things really matter and have an impact on whether or not you’ll receive callbacks from customers. It took less than 10 minutes to change light bulbs, but we got a customer for life because we “donated” our time to help her out.

    • Roger — thanks for the comment — What you refer to in your comment is RULE # 1 — 1.DO SOMETHING FOR YOUR CUSTOMER THAT WON’T BENEFIT YOU! That is exactly what you did and it paid off in a customer for life.

Leave a Reply

