Mistakes?


I don’t know about you, but this time of year I get inundated with all sort of catalogs at home.  I do like to look at them, especially the ones with the t-shirts with the sayings on them.

Well, one of them caught my eye the other day as I was perusing through the catalog.  The printing on the shirt said, “I’ve learned so much from my mistakesI think I’ll make a few more!”

This one really hit home with me.  As most of you know, most of my posts come from questions, or problems, or issues I have encountered with contractors or equipment or both.  It could be simple phone calls or actual site visits, but regardless, the inspiration for my posts come from the people I deal with on a daily basis as a manufacturer’s tech support person. Some of it is pretty basic and some of it can be very “critical” to the system operating correctly.

Now, as I thought about the saying on this t-shirt, it hit me that some of my own personal learning has come from mistakes that I have made over the years.  Just as the contractor or dealers who inspire my posts have made some mistakes, allowing me to write about it, my own mistakes have taught me a lot.

I was always taught, by some very forgiving people and mentors, that it is OK to make mistakes.  We learn from them. The key is to not keep repeating the same mistake over and over again.  If we keep making the same mistake –that just proves we did not take that experience/mistake and learn from it the first time. 

In one of my last posts, I said there are 2 type of contractors who claim 20 years experience – those that actually have 20 years experience and probably have learned from their mistakes, and those that have 1 year experience 20 time over and keep making the same mistakes because they just won’t learn!.

I know it seems like I am rambling again, but the point I want to make here comes is back to LEARNING!  We need to always keep learning, in the classroom, on the job site, and even from our mistakes.

Don’t ever be afraid to admit you’ve made a mistake.  It is part of the learning process.  The key to remember here is just what the t-shirt said at the start of this post —- “I’ve learned so much from my mistakes, I think I’ll make a few more!”

We can never stop learning (even from our mistakes)! Any learning experience is a good experience if we take advantage of it.

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

