About the only thing that comes to us without effort is OLD AGE!


Believe it or not, the time has come for me to retire.  After 23 + years with a manufacturer as a technical service rep and after working 25 years in the field for contractors, the time has come to “hang up the old tool belt”  and “put away the meters” — 48 years in the field is more than enough.

A couple of the determining factors that has led me to this decision is that I have just become a first-time grandpa with a new little grand-daughter.  My son and daughter in-law live in about 3 hours away and my wife and I want to be able to help as much as possible (spoil the baby rotten since this is our 1st grandchild) and be able to spend time with them. Also, one of my daughters will be graduating next year from Durham University in England with her PhD in Marine Mammal Environmental Behavior and we will probably be helping her relocate to wherever she ends up (somewhere on one of the coast). Family will be keeping me busy.

The past winter also taught me that I am not as “young” as I would like to think I am.  Getting up and down on ladders and roofs, working in the very cold and snowy weather has proved that to me. Don’t get me wrong – I still love what I do — learning all the new controls and equipment – doing my training classes (I do plan to do some “guest training” at the local community colleges) — helping dealers – I will miss all the “hands-on” experiences, but do not fear ………….

I do plan to continue my BLOG and continue to help Tech’s via this medium.

My plan is to officially retire at the end of the year (12/31/14) but, since I have vacation days to “use or lose”; my last day is 12/12/14. The time has come to move on and pursue other things and enjoy new possibilities with my family.

Thank you all for your comments,  support, guidance, suggestions and questions over the past 3+ years that I have been writing this blog. I would also request topics you might want presented or information on and I will try to write a post on that topic.

Wishing everyone the Best of this coming holiday season and a wonderful New Year!

Mike

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to About the only thing that comes to us without effort is OLD AGE!

  1. Whit Perry says:

    Congratulations! Enjoy your, much earned and needed, retirement. Thanks for deciding to continue the blog. It’s one, if not, the best out there.

    • THANK YOU! You have always been a big supporter of this effort. I’ll try to do my best to keep this timely. Any suggestions or need is always welcome and I’ll try to address any topic. Being out of the field limits my access to issues/problems so I am going to relay on my readers for topics. If I’m going to be in your area, I’ll let you know and maybe do a ‘guest” session with your students if you would like.

  2. 48 years in the business! In the words of the younger generation OMG! I am sure York will miss you, hope they have someone qualified to back you up. Congratulations.

  3. Mike Smith says:

    Mike,
    Your insight and advice is always welcome,glad to hear that will continue.Enjoy your well earned retirement!

  4. dsomerv says:

    Mike:
    Best wishes. I’ve learned a lot from you and your blog; and appreciate your efforts in making this one corner of the world a better place. Thanks.

    As for topics, how about a discussion of the way residential heat pumps are defrosted. It seems strange that the usual (only?) way is by extracting heat from the dwelling. It works, but not well, is inefficient, and annoying to the end user – a kludge that has somehow persisted, one wonders why ?

    Anyway, do enjoy the family time – and do have an especially happy xmas.
    regards, Dan

  5. Dean says:

    Well Deserved and congrats!! And a big THANK YOU for the blog and your decision to continue

  6. Mike says:

    That’s a long time in the field Mike. You have definetly seen your share of changes. Some good,some not so good but. This is a Great industry and appreciate talent as yours !!
    Best to you

  7. Ken Dean says:

    Congratulations! I hope you enjoy your new pursuits. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience with us.

  8. Ed Deppe says:

    Mike-

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog over the years. I used to be with Honeywell and have several old colleagues at Johnson Controls. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and getting the techs view of things.

    Enjoy your retirement. I’m sure you’ve earned it.

  9. john bach says:

    Thank You Mike, You Will Surely Be Missed, Enjoy the Holidays, When Your Nice And Cozy Around The Fireplace , Just Remember The Frozen Gruts In The Field ( ha-ha ) ENJOY

  10. lui says:

    Thank You mike, I like the blog. I have issue code 5. anything you have on this? 1 wire up to w1 but w1 and w2 are jumped due to not enough wires

    • code 5, depending on the make of the control board, usually indicates an open ‘roll-out’ switch. It could also indicate an open or loose fuse on the board. This could also be caused by loose electrical connections, dirty electrical connections, broken wires, etc. ALSO — If you have a 2 stage furnace and w1 & w2 are jumped — you DON’T have a 2-stage furnace. On most 2-stage furnaces, if there are not enough wires, it usually get wired to w1 and then there is an adjustable timer on the board to let you set when 2nd stage comes on.
      I WOULD STRONGLY SUGGEST HAVING A CONTRACTOR WHO IS FAMILIAR WITH YOUR PRODUCT, COME OUT AND SEE WHY YOU HAVE A FLASH CODE 5 AND THEN PROPERLY SET IT UP FOR 2-STAGE OPERATION.

  11. lui says:

    mike i should stated the model. zf150n20aaa5a. I have talked to the techs at York service who told me to replace the ignition but code 5 re happened. I hooked the main gas low and high temporary until further diagnostics.

    • Flash code 5 on RTU is “flame sensed when it should not be there. Also w2 energized before w1. Try disconnecting w2 off the control. Also — check sensor and wire for “cracks” Use a megohm meter and see if you get any reading on the wire of sensor to ground

      • lui says:

        Thank you for the response and assistance. It ran fine when I only had w1 but since only one lead up to the unit it did not like the w1 and w2 to be jumped.

Leave a Reply

