Spring Cleaning


Here it is, almost the end of February and the start of meteorological SPRING. Sure, the ground-hog saw his shadow meaning winter ain’t over yet but, for those readers in the U.S., daylight savings time starts March 8th , just 2 weeks away, which is a sure sign of spring.

Now, for those of us living in the Midwest,  winter just does not want to leave.  the Great Lakes are 83% frozen and the snow cover is still over 50% of the U.S, warmer weather is probably still a long way away and the arctic keeps dumping its cold down on us.. Then, of course, who knows how long it will take for the Northeast to melt their record mountains of snow.

If you are like me, I think we are all tired of this winter and are all hoping that spring gets here soon.

With spring’s arrival, soon will be the arrival of air conditioning season. We all have been in the heating mind-set for the last 6 months and now we will have to get into the air conditioning mind-set.  In my next series of posts, I will try to address doing proper maintenance on BOTH air conditioners AND heat pumps.   I will try to break it down as far as what should be looked at and why and try to group components as much as possible. The purpose is to get everyone in the A/C mind-set.

So, let’s all hope that warmer weather gets here soon, the northeast’s snow finally melts, the Great Lakes thaw out,  and with all of that, the start of air conditioning season gets here too.

Stay tuned for my series on “Spring Cleaning”.

 

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in HVAC Tech Support and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

