Maintaining Equipment Efficiency


I participate in a blog called HVAC SERVICE SELLING  and this was posted on the site by Robert Baker who does commercial heating and cooling.  I felt this tied in nicely with my “Spring Cleaning” series of posts and thought I would pass it on to everyone.

“Do you take your car to a mechanic for preventive maintenance? Sure you do. Why? Well so it’s safe to use, runs to its full potential, saves fuel, prevents costly repairs, and extends the life of the vehicle.”

“The air conditioning and heating in your home or building also needs preventive maintenance; just like your car, for the same benefits I listed. Replacing your equipment and major repairs are costly and improper maintenance may increase your utility bills. Electricity fuels your equipment, so this spring call a licensed professional to make sure your equipment is running at its full efficiency.”

The day of the “do it yourselfers”  is gone.  “Beer can cold and sweating”, outdoor ambient +30, and all other ‘rules of thumb’ for charging can no longer be tolerated with the high efficiency equipment of today. Proper diagnostics need to be performed to keep equipment functioning properly.  Using “matching and AHRI rated” components is critical to proper efficiency.

So  — Robert said this very well and I really feel this is something that you, as professionals, should be passing on to ‘end users’. I alway preach about you being properly trained and now is the time to properly train your customers.  Feel free to pass this on or use it if you feel it will help your business.

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

