Ten Commandments of Human Relations


I was recently going through some of the boxes I packed up when I retired in January and came across this article that I used both when I was a service manager for a contractor and when I became the manufacturer’s rep. It is something I tried to instill in my personnel as a service manager and something I tried to follow as a tech rep since we all are dealing with people on a daily basis.

My copy says “found on a bulletin board at Montgomery College”. The author is unknown but whoever wrote this understood how to deal with people and maintain good  human relations.

  1. Speak TO People!  There is nothing so nice as a cheerful word or greeting.
  2. Smile at People!  It takes 72 muscles to frown, only 14 to smile.
  3. CALL PEOPLE BY NAME!   The sweetest music to anyone’s ears is the sound of their own name.
  4. Be Friendly and Helpful!  If you want to have friends, BE A FRIEND.
  5. Be Cordial!  Speak and act as if everything you do is a genuine pleasure.
  6. Be Genuinely Interested in People!  You can like almost everybody if you  try.
  7. Be Generous with Praise!  Cautious with Criticism!
  8. Be Considerate with the feelings of others. There are usually THREE SIDES to a controversy; yours, the other person’s, and the right side.
  9. Be Alert to Give Service!  What counts most in life is what we do for others.
  10. ADD TO THIS a good sense of humor, a big dose of patience, and a dash of humility and you will be rewarded many fold.

I’ve followed this for most of my working life. In some of my next posts I will continue to present customer/human relation ideas like this and my previous post —Attitude is Gratitude. Sometimes we get so involved in being good servicers that we sometimes forget about the customer relations side of our job and that side is as important, if not more so, than just “fixing the problem”.  We need to be able to keep our customers happy and coming back and that is where CUSTOMER RELATION SKILLS come into play.  Hope you find this helpful.

Awesome dog

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

