How To Always Win With Customers!


My last few posts have been centered around customer relations.To conclude this series, I offer the following that was something I tried to teach my Techs and follow myself.

First, we need to ask the question, “WHAT IS A CUSTOMER?”  To answer that —-

A CUSTOMER IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PERSON EVER IN THIS OFFICE …. IN PERSON, BY PHONE, OR BY MAIL!

A CUSTOMER IS NOT DEPENDENT ON US … WE ARE DEPENDENT ON HIM!

A CUSTOMER IS NOT AN INTERRUPTION OF OUR WORK … HE IS THE PURPOSE OF IT. WE ARE NOT DOING HIM A FAVOR BY SERVING HIM … HE IS DOING US A FAVOR BY GIVING US THE OPPORTUNITY TO DO SO!

A CUSTOMER IS NOT SOMEONE TO ARGUE WITH OR MATCH WITS WITH. NOBODY EVER WON AN ARGUMENT WITH A CUSTOMER!

A CUSTOMER IS A PERSON WHO BRINGS US HIS WANTS AND NEEDS. IT IS OUR JOB TO HANDLE THEM PROFITABLY TO HIM AND TO OURSELVES!

So, now that we really understand what a customer is, how can we ALWAYS WIN WITH THAT CUSTOMER?.  First and foremost:

“ALWAYS DO MORE THAN THE CUSTOMER EXPECTS”

And to achieve that, follow these simple, common sense steps:

  1. DO SOMETHING FOR YOUR CUSTOMER THAT WON’T BENEFIT YOU!
    1. Remove trash from the roof.
    2. show how to reset the circuit breaker (explain cautions)
    3. Explain energy-saving projects the customer can do.
  2. UNDERSTAND THE LAW OF RECIPROCITY!
    1. Most people are morally obligated to give back “like kind” behavior.
    2. Don’t say, “IT WAS NOTHING”
    3. Say, ” YOU’D DO THE SAME FOR ME”
  3. LET THE CUSTOMER KNOW IF YOU ARE DELAYED
  4. INFORM THE CUSTOMER IF THE JOB WILL TAKE LONGER THAN NORMAL.
  5. LET YOUR CUSTOMER KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT
    1. Noises
    2. Smoke from soldering, starting up a new gas furnace, or RTU etc.
    3. Odors from cleaning solutions or other chemicals
  6. CLEANLINESS IS CRITICAL
    1. The entire job may be judged on what the customer sees.
    2. Understand the “coffee stain” theory.
    3. Cleanliness Shows Pride.
  7. EXPLAIN WHAT YOU DID TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM!
  8. ASK THE CUSTOMER TO CONCUR THAT THE SERVICE WAS SATISFACTORY.
    1. “Does this work meet your high standards?”
  9. ASK, “IF THERE IS ANYTHING ELSE YOU’D LIKE ME TO CHECK?”
    1. “I can charge by the 1/4 hour to check out any other problems if you’d like?”
  10. DISCUSS RECOMMENDATIONS
    1. Look for opportunities to make your customer’s lives better
      1. maybe a new WiFi thermostat?
      2. a new humidifier
      3. or as McDonald’s has taught us, “Do you want fries with that?”
    2. Document findings  and recommendations on your service report.
    3. ALWAYS KEEP YOUR PROMISES.

If you follow these simple, common sense guidelines, you can only win with your  customers and keep them coming back to you!

(I do not know who the original authors were but I have taught these principles to techs, contractors, distributors, and tried to follow these principles in my daily dealings with people.)

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in Commentary, HVAC Tech Support and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How To Always Win With Customers!

  1. whit@whitperry.com says:

    You getting this blog? Good fodder for the student. It’s free to them and you…. From: York Central Tech Talk To: whit@whitperry.com Sent: Tuesday, October 6, 2015 3:29 PM Subject: [New post] How To Always Win With Customers! #yiv8964148146 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8964148146 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8964148146 a.yiv8964148146primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8964148146 a.yiv8964148146primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8964148146 a.yiv8964148146primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8964148146 a.yiv8964148146primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8964148146 WordPress.com | yorkcentraltechtalk posted: “My last few posts have been centered around customer relations.To conclude this series, I offer the following that was something I tried to teach my Techs and follow myself.First, we need to ask the question, “WHAT IS A CUSTOMER?”  To answer that —-” | |

    • Whit
      Thanks for following my blog and passing it on to your students. Beside technical skills, people skills are also important as you know
      Appreciate the support you have go my little blog
      Mike

  2. I’m worried about #2 UNDERSTAND THE LAW OF RECIPROCITY!
    Since 1998 My answer was “It was nothing” my main concern is your happy, should I go with the morally obligated approach? Should I switch too “YOU’D DO THE SAME FOR ME?

    Similar subject I am a hands on owner so I see how hard the freight guy, cleaner guy, all building personnel Jobs are. I also know they can make or break my job at any time. So I found that telling them I get a small petty cash fund for lunch from my boss and it’s OK to give you Lunch cash 5/10. They seem to be more comfortable taking it. When i have a suit on they actually stray a little and I think they feel uncomfortable. So am I ethically wrong considering I am the owner? Thanks for input

    • I understand your concern and the “building personnel” are sometimes your best contacts/promoters so for them, go back to rule # 1. The “lunch cash” is an excellent idea. I would still change how to respond from “it was nothing” and say “You’d do the same for me and you know my main concern is keeping you happy and taking care of the problems.” This makes them know you value their position and how important they are. It really does work without compromising any moral obligation on both your and their part. Think about it this way and let me know if you need anything else.

      • Thanks so much I have been following you for a while under Alias. But 2016 I decided to go public. And I’m glad I did. I will follow your advice word for word.

      • I appreciate your confidence in my posts but remember, no two situations are alike. You need to look at each situation on it’s own merit. Use what I publish as a “guide”, not “gospel”. It is great to see people who have ethics in our industry. I applaud you for that.

Leave a Reply

