HOT SURFACE IGNITERS


DIAGNOSTIC OHMS READINGS

PART NUMBER            DESCRIPTION                COLD OHMS

025-32626-000            CARBORUNDUM                 100+

025-32625-000            NORTON LOW-TEMP         40 TO 400

025-33421-000            NORTON MINI                      50 TO 300

025-30860-000            SMART VALVE                     3 TO 10

-COLD “OHMS” REFERS TO THE READING OBTAINED WHEN THE IGNITER IS NOT HOT (room temperature)

-READINGS FALLING WITH IN THESE RANGES INDICATES A GOOD IGNITER

-WHEN REPLACING AN IGNITER, CHECK THE OHMS OF THE NEW IGNITER BEFORE INSTALLING IT TO MAKE SURE IT WAS NOT DAMAGED IN SHIPPING.

-READINGS OUTSIDE THESE RANGES INDICATES A BAD IGNITER

-NORTON MINI IS IGNITER USED IN THE 473-20937-001 KIT

-SMART VALVE IGNITER IS PART OF THE PILOT ASSEMBLY BUT CAN BE CHECKED SEPARATELY TO SEE IF IT IS GOOD

An igniter that has aged and is ready to fail will show:

  1. Higher degree of oxidation, the igniter will be close to white
  2. Hot spot with heavy oxidation, usually in the center of the igniter akin to a knuckle.

About yorkcentraltechtalk

I have been in the HVAC industry most of my life. I worked 25 years for contractors on anything from residential to large commercial boilers and power burners. For the past 23+ years I had been employed by York International UPG Division ( a division of Johnson Controls) as a Technical support/Service Manager but I am now retired. One of my goals has always been to "educate" dealers and contractors. The reason for starting this blog was to share some knowledge, thoughts, ideas, etc with anyone who takes the time to read it. The contents of this blog are my own opinions, thoughts, experiences and should not be construed as those of Johnson Controls York UPG in any way. I hope you find this a help. I always welcome comments and suggestions for postings and will do my best to address any thoughts, questions, or topics you may want to hear about. Thanks for taking the time to read my postings! Mike Bishop
This entry was posted in HVAC Tech Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment